Life Members

Jim Thompson- Inducted as Grafton Basketball Association's first Life Member in 1958.

In 1953 the Grafton Basketball Association formed under first president and life member Mr Jim Thompson, an inspector of schools, who started an eight-team men's competition in the Army Drill Hall in Grafton.

Roma Brotherson- Inducted 1968

Roma Brotherson was a foundation member of the Women's competition. 1958 saw the start of Roma taking on an official role with Grafton Basketball Association in the position of Treasure. After 10 years of consecutive service in this role she was inducted as a Life Member in 1968.

Roma represented Grafton Basketball as a player, referee, coach, board member and scorer. She dedicated over 60 years of service to the Association. 

Bruce Leonard.jpg

Bruce Leonard- Inducted 1976

Bruce Leonard was instrumental in putting Grafton basketball on the map.

For over 50 year Bruce dedicated his life to Grafton basketball, serving as President or Secretary-manager for over 30 years. 

In 1967 Bruce created the Jacaranda Basketball Carnival, one of the biggest basketball carnivals in Australia, which is still run today. 

Through Bruces' leadership Grafton Basketball entered a team in the SEABL competition, attracting American imports to play in the competition.

He was the driving force behind the building of the Grafton Sports Centre and later the extension of the centre which now has a pavilion named in his honour.

Bruce is a Former NSW Country Committee President and former Director of Basketball NSW as well as a Life Member of NSW Country Basketball.

Joy Holton- Inducted 1978

Jan Johnston- Inducted 2003

Jo Morgan- Inducted 2003

Tim (Noe) Clark- Inducted 2018

Brian Robins.jpg

Brian Robins- Inducted 2020

Robert Blinman- Inducted 2020

Patrick Hagan- Inducted 2020

 Due diligence has been made to ensure the accuracy of this information. If you would like to contribute please get in contact with us