top of page

Grafton Basketball Association History

While records indicate that basketball began in Grafton around 1948, the first official general meeting of Grafton Basketball was held on 10 March, 1953.

The patron, Mr W J Weiley spoke highly of the move to start a healthy, spectacular sport in Grafton.

The first President was Mr Jim Thompson, with Mr E L Blackshaw and Mr Frank McGuran appointed as Vice Presidents and Mr Peter Langham served as Secretary/Treasure. The committee was to consist of each captain. The records show that 15 players and supports were in attendance.


Basketball was originally played in the Army Drill Hall. 


In 1957 Grafton Women's Basketball formed their own association with the executive consisting of Nancy Perkins (President), Nancy Lollback (Secretary), Karen O'Brien (Treasure) and Beverley Baker (Publicity Officer). Working with the already established mens competition the women played on the same nights as the men.


1953- First meeting held of Grafton Basketball Association. Jim Thompson elected as President.

1957- Grafton Women's Basketball formed with Nancy Perkins appointed as President.

1958- Jim Thompson inducted as Grafton Basketballs first Life Member.

1962- New home of basketball- outdoor courts in Bacon Street.

1962- Roma Brotherson becomes Treasure of Grafton Basketball 

1962/1963- Mens and womens associations combine. The first singlets worn by Grafton representative teams were blue with black trim.

1971- New home of basketball- Garden Theatre

1981- Courts built in Powell Street- Grafton Sports Centre

1985- Grafton wins first State League title

2000- Extension to the Grafton Sports Centre and name changed to Grafton Regional Sports and Entertainment Centre.

2000- Grafton hosts Russia V Australian Opals in warm up game prior to Sydney Olympics.

2012- Bruce Leonard Pavilion (current gymnastics center at Grafton PCYC) named in honour of Life Member Bruce Leonard

2015- Sunshine Basketball Conference is formed and Grafton enters teams into the Men's and Women's Competition.

2017- Grafton Vikings, led by Robert Blinman as coach, take out the men's division of the Sunshine Basketball Conference.

2020- Main pavilion at Grafton PCYC named in honour of Life Member Bruce Leonard.

2022- Court 1 named after Life Member Roma Brotherson and Court 2 named after Life Member Jo Morgan.

Due diligence has been made to ensure the accuracy of this information. If you would like to contribute please get in contact with us

bottom of page